ADVERTISEMENT

National Anthem Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

WhatTheHeel?

All-American
Mar 31, 2002
Chick's Pledge of Allegiance article thread prompted me to finally ask this question.

As the National Anthem is not a pledge, when someone is singing it, like before an event, I've always stood with my hands behind my back rather than with my hand over my heart. I guess it's kind of like "at attention" though I have no military background. I see all sorts of different stances but was curious what the OOTB crowd considers appropriate.

I'm not a fan of the PoA or war anthems particularly, but I get why so many are, as it means something different to everyone. I do the same usually just stand and wait. I have a bigger problem with some of these things happening in churches, which has led me to not attend at certain "holidays".

Hand over my heart for the Star-Spangled Banner.

As an aside, I love seeing former and current military salute during the SSB. Sometimes I'll even thank them for their service afterwards. The SSB is one of my favorite parts of the pre-game for any sporting event. If done right, everyone stops what they're doing for that couple minutes. It's a powerful moment IMO.

Hand over heart and I get goosebumps every time.

Reason #109303 Mooers suck: they disparage our national anthem by yelling "RED" during the line "and the rockets' red glare..."
Well even worse is changing the end to be "home of the wolfpack." I thought about mentioning it in my initial post, but yeah, I hate when those SOB's do that

36 U.S. Code § 301 - National anthem
Current through Pub. L. 114-38. (See Public Laws for the current Congress.)
prev | next
(a) Designation.—

The composition consisting of the words and music known as the Star-Spangled Banner is the national anthem.

(b) Conduct During Playing.—During a rendition of the national anthem—

(1)when the flag is displayed—