ADVERTISEMENT

I guess it's my turn to do a sappy post

JuleZ '02 HEEL

Hall of Famer
Feb 15, 2003
Here be dragons

I've had Maggie since she was a pup about 8 weeks old, a couple of months after I graduated. She had a long life that started out with college parties (my roommates and friends at that time were still in college, and I was a reporter with weird hours, so I could pretend) and continued on with lots of boat rides and beach trips, meeting Arwen and eventually getting married, and on down the road adding a couple little girls to the pack. She was a sweetheart and a great dog.

She's had joint issues, especially her hips, for a long time, and has been on glucosamine supplements since she was about 7, later we had to start with daily pain meds, and the last few months she's been on stronger stuff. But it was only getting worse, and she was falling more and more, struggling to get up, and becoming unable to handle stairs or hard floors. Sometimes not wanting to eat and leaving food in her bowl for hours which was completely unlike her. She was hurting and it was time for us to let go.

My four-year-old asked if Mommy and I drove her to heaven. #I'mnotcryingyou'recrying

Give your pets an extra head scratch or belly rub tonight.

damn Jules...I WAS in a good mood this morning!! Tough thing to have to deal with.....have put down several great dogs and every time without fail it hurts!!! Maybe Maggie hooked up with Tucker and Jake when she got to where she was going....couple of great dogs but warning....both are horny as all get out!!!

I had a lab make it 14 years and never had any hip problems or anything. He just went to sleep one night and never woke up. Damn, he was a great dog.

Then we had a beagle that developed a chronic kidney issue and we had to put him down, at only 8. That was rough, especially for the kids.