ADVERTISEMENT

The anti-UNC ACC officiating bias

UNCGridironFanatic

Sophomore
Sep 20, 2015
Look, this is going to be long, and you can call me paranoid all you want, but today was the last straw. I've got a zoom shot of that "first down" awarded to GT in the 3rd Q, and that entire sequence is a disgrace. One, the spot GAVE GT a half yard, clearly....2nd, even with that, THE CHAINS CLEARLY PROVE THAT THEY DIDN'T GET THE FIRST DOWN! As a newbie here, I haven't figured out posting this pic, but I will. As my buddy and I said during the game in real time, the nose of the ball didn't get to the stick. This photo clearly shows that to be the case....it was short by an entire link and a half. And yet, the zebras just gave them the first down, as if no one would notice! Clearly trying to screw UNC, for whatever reason.

I bring this up b/c we won, and it can't be said to be sourgrapes. But this is a pattern of inexplicable calls that ALWAYS go against UNC:
1- this play I have the pic on....
2- roughing the punt snapper at ND last year. Otis didn't even do it, and that is a call I've never seen called. We were ahead, in the 4thQ, by the way.
3- multiple phantom penalties against and overruled UNC big plays by Ron Cherry in games vs. VaTech in 08 and 11. All clearly horrid calls. Mookie catch inside the VT 3 yd line waved off by Cherry from 40 yards away.
4- more Ron Cherry in a debacle vs BC in 09
5- two phantom holding calls on Aaron Stahl on scored TDs @ MooU in 09 in a 1 pt. loss. Neither was any more a hold than were either of today's abominations called on QDavis and Crowley.
6- opposition players go unpunished by the league when they intentionally set out to injure UNC players. See Tim Jackson cut/clipped 30 yds. from the play at the end of the play vs dirty Dook OL dirtbag in 13, and today's high-low of NJones by GT RG-RT duo.