ADVERTISEMENT

Holbrook

tmatheny

Senior
Gold Member
Dec 25, 2002
First of all hats off to Holbrook. I thought he did a good job with South Carolina has the season progressed

Second of all, I just visited the South Carolina board And they are throwing him under the bus. One thread discusses why he didn't have the batter bunt in the 9th With one out and one on. Personally I thought he made the right decision it just didn't workout right for him. Second of all they question the lack of patience of the last two batters. As a coach myself we all know despite how many times you may tell a player something that doesn't mean in a pressure situation they're going to remember that.

Thirdly, If I'm not mistaken he's been the recruiting force behind the gamecocks the past few years as well as UNC's prior to him going to South Carolina.

Just wanted to hear some of your thoughts

Trolls come out on our board

after a loss. There are some spoiled fans over there as a result of our success the last couple of years. Every fanbase has them...ours are just pretty vocal on the board.

Holbrook did great this year I thought. Team has a different "look" and I don't think they were as sound defensively...but statistically they were better on offense, and the pitching rebounded nicely considering we lost two of the best pitchers in collegiate history. I think we are in good hands. I met him last year, very nice and it amazes me how much he sounds like Tanner.

I think most of the Cocks know he didn't have vintage level SCAR talent this year. They have a few "fans" like ours that think every L is theirs by God and only a Coach or Manager can take it away.

He's a quality man and will do well for SCAR as long as he's there. And we'll see him a LOT in the future since the NCAA wants to make sure to limit the Carolina entries to Omaha it seems.