ADVERTISEMENT

Need some opinions

Apr 13, 2014
Folks, i need some help! I'm a bassist by trade and recently signed an endorsement with an in-ear monitor company (fancy ear buds). I'm not sure what the rules are here about calling out companies that a member promotes so i won't say the name of the company. Don't want this post to be deleted. I can't decide between 3 designs for my custom model. Pictured below are the two that i've designed thus far. The third option is to have "TAR" written on the right ear and "HEELS" written on the left (that version hasn't been drawn up yet). I may have to go with a slightly altered UNC Logo to avoid copyright issues if I choose the smaller logo. I could also do slate grey or silver glitter as a base color but thought that i'd choose which logo i want to go with before deciding on color. I'd really appreciate some feedback and opinions. Thanks in advance guys and GO HEELS!

20150221_001802_img.png

20150221_002857_img.png

Seems unanimous for #1! Not sure you can legally use the logo or even the name Tar Heels or even a slightly altered likeness for a commercial venture where a company is trying to sell a product without the consent of UNC and more importantly, the NCAA. Those guys want a piece of every schools merchandise. The company you are endorsed by would probably have to get a license from the NCAA. I once tried to sell Bird Feeders that looked like the Old Well and got shut down even though the design was stolen from the Temple of Love in France. My distributors were afraid of the NCAA.