ADVERTISEMENT

Share one of your...

strummingram

Hall of Famer
Oct 1, 2010
Fondest memories with your father.

I remember this as if it were yesterday. I was in 1st grade and it was October 1974 (we hadn't been moved to NC from Petersburg, VA a year yet), and my Dad and I were fishing in the Chickahominy River (staying at my mom's family's "cottage" on the river, with some other family members). Anyway, it's late evening and it's the last cast. My Dad had FINALLY let me use an actual rod and reel (Zebco 202) and a Jitterbug lure on that trip. He says "Cast it over there near those lily pads and see what happens, it's starting to get dark." I do it, begin to reel-in, and SPLASH! This is new for me because I had been using a cane pole for the last 2 years. I was flustered to say the least. He's yelling "Pull back on it! And REEL it! Pull back harder!" Well, I'm getting more confused and I don't wanna lose what's clearly the biggest thing I ever caught. The activity on the line just stops. I'm freaking out thinking I lost it. He grabs it and starts reeling it in. Well, I'm now pissed because I'm thinking "You're gonna steal my thunder, dude! No way!" So, I'm yelling at him to gimme the rod back, he's cussing at me to shut up and let him reel it in. I start crying and pouting. Then it gets to the boat and it's a nice 6 pound largemouth bass. I get the net and bring it in. He then proceeds to convince me "You CAUGHT it, I just reeled it in!" Very diplomatic. He's laughing and I start laughing. We get back to the cottage and I finally get my rite of passage photo at the cottage holding up MY bass with my Dad! All my cousins were like older brrothers and had all caught theirs. My Dad had caught an 8 pounder earlier that same evening.

We got both stuffed and mounted and I felt like I'd "graduated" to BASS FISHERMAN... with my Dad!