ADVERTISEMENT

A (hopefully) public service post...

gary-7

Hall of Famer
Jan 27, 2003
Parts Unknown
...and well, we'll see.

My late mom was a Public Health Supervisor for what was then the fastest growing, and now one of the nation's most populous counties. When she first went back to work as a Public Health Nurse (after my dad passed away when I was a little kid), she was getting paid next to nothing. So when I was a Sophomore in HS, she (in mid-career) went to UVA for a year to finish her BSN, whilst I took care of the house and went back and forth to my Aunt and Uncle's place to get fed. Pardon me if I shed a little tear here, but I couldn't have been prouder of her, and I tutored her in the math for her science courses when she came home for the weekends.

Aftrer earning a promotion, when I was a college Freshman she got a grant from the State Health Dept. to go to Grad School, and earned a Masters (in Immunology and Epidemiology) from Johns Hopkins. Once again, when she came home for weekends I helped her with the math for her advanced science classes. Meanwhile, I was balancing taking care of the house while commuting to George Mason and playing basketball and baseball (I wasn't "gifted" enough to get a basketball scholly at my dream school --- UNC).

Anyway, here's the point: During all this I was exposed to the science behind Public Health, and when it comes to potential epidemics (or, God forbid, pandemics) much of it comes down to mathematics. IIRC, the benchmark the epidemioogy pros use is based on the "Naught" infected patient, and how many people that carrier could potentially infect. Some viruses are more infectious than others. For example, childhood diseases like Measles are stoopid contagious --- as in look-at-somebody-the-wrong-way and get it --- while normal flus are much less so.